On my 18th I got a suitcase…

Posted on August 9, 2007. Filed under: Journal from behind the desk... |


“Happy 18th Birthday son….we bought you a suitcase!”

OK my hair wasn’t quite that retro

I was happy with that. I was off to get drunk and train to be a nurse! Cool!

I mention this because it seems there is a growing population who seem reluctant to untie the apron strings of momma’s food and love!

When I was in my mid to later teens I wouldn’t have dreamed of bringing my mum into the doctors with me, but some do. This week however I have been a little shocked. 

Firstly it was a 20 year old female, who sat quietly while her mummy told me all about her daughters poorly throat. Bless.  I didn’t mind too much, I thought perhaps she had laryngitis and couldn’t talk very well. I felt quite embarrassed when I asked:

“Are you having trouble talking?”

and the 20 year old, clear as a fog horn said:

“NO!”

I felt like advising they went home a had some Calpol, rather than a nasty adult tablet of Paracetamol. (AKA Acetaminophen – come on Americans speak English!! – look I love ya really – oddly most of my readers are American (it must be my swell accent!), so I best not take the pee too much!) – oooh side tracked!

But then it just got worse…

A guy in his mid 20′s came in complaining of a itchy peri-anal rash (as oppose to perennial rash – which would of course be an abundance of colourful flowers - some of my readers are gardeners!) Sorry! side tracked again.  (and oppose to a perineal rash – some of my readers are nurses!) Whoa - easily distracted today.

Anyway, there he stood, bum in my face. I advised I thought it was a fungal infection - and he said….

“That’s what my mum thought when she saw it”

Eeeewwww!

Purhaps this is more a reflection of my relationship with my mum, but there is no way I’d show her my butt rash!

OK so I have no problem really with patients of any age, bringing in a any friend or any relative for support, but from time to time, I just think….WHY?

All done – well pack your suitcase and head over to Kim’s for the new logo’d change of shift.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “On my 18th I got a suitcase…”

RSS Feed for It shouldn’t happen in health care Comments RSS Feed

I agree- it is bad enough bringing a parent with them, but far,far worse having the parent explain the problem to you. And his showing his mum his bum is just so, so gross

Oh God! I stopped having my mum come into the doctors with me when I was 14/15. I just refused so made her wait outside!

& a guy in his mid 20′s showing his mum his bum rash? WHY?! :o
So very wrong, I don’t know where to start.

I don’t even go with my daughter into the doctor’s and she is 17 – I assume she wants privacy unless she asks me to come in. And the day my son tries to show me a rash on his rear is the day I cover my eyes and tell him to go show someone who cares! : D

I’m with you on this one. The doctor used to make my mum come in with me until I was 16 after that I would never have dreamt of having her there with me I would organize my own doctors appointments if I needed any and my mother wasn’t interfering enough to want to be with me. Even aged 17 when I was in hospital I got my mum to leave while the doctors asked about smoking, drugs and sex….

are you talkin about me

Depends whether you are paranoid or not?!?!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 124 other followers

