Armchair athletics…

Posted on August 19, 2008. Filed under: Apply topically, Journal from behind the desk... |


It’s been a typical British summer, the town is full of holiday makers, the clouds are full of rain, and all the kids are getting ready to return to school….Holy carp….  Summers nearly over.

Did it leave me wounded??  Well only a little.  The amount of “I’ve come on holiday and forgot my tablets” has been less than usual. 

There has been a slight increase in the amount of injured parents and grandparents (mostly dad’s and grandad’s) who thought it was OK to try and do what the kids do:

“Well we were playing cricket and little Jimmy smacked the ball high, so I jumped for it and rolled – just like on the TV, now my leg hurts and my wrist is shaped like a fork, I forgot I was 87 and had two hip replacements”

I often joke that exercises isn’t necessarily good for you…which leads me to the report that states arm chair spectators of the Olympics have been trying to compete…apparently a company that repairs gadgets has received around 50 calls from people wanting to set up their rowing machines and exercise bikes so they can practice keeping up with the Olympians.  My favourite quote in this article is from John Brewer of the Lucozade Sports Science Academy:

There has to be a degree of realism and common sense”

Oh my god….really.  Does this apply to everything in life!!!  Lets just hope they keep it to the rowing machine and exercise bike.   Otherwise it’ll be a case of…
 
“Honey, duck down I’ve just thrown my javelin in the kitchen….honey?… Sweety are you there??”
 
The ancient art of Javelin catching…
 
 
I have in the past commented on thanks…or the lack of.  Well this week I had a hugely grateful patient.  She went down the corridor after seeing me, in a loud voice saying “ooh isn’t he wonderful”, “he made me so much better” and other such gems. 
 
The patients in the waiting room should have been impressed, and had she not been with her mental health nurse, drooling, and generally looking quite mad, I’m sure this would have done my esteem a good deal…Oh well, apparently she has a tendency to spit on people and be grumpy…I’ll take thanks where I can, I’m not fussy.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Armchair athletics…”

RSS Feed for It shouldn’t happen in health care Comments RSS Feed

thats grimmm

Heya! I realize this is somewhat off-topic however I had to ask.
Does building a well-established blog like yours take a lot of work?
I am brand new to writing a blog however I do write in my diary on a daily basis.
I’d like to start a blog so I can share my personal experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

