P=Q-D/C/BM

Posted on April 13, 2007. Filed under: Journal from behind the desk... |


I haven’t got any particularly long and winding tale to tell this week, but it’s just been a bit odd.

Very busy (that’s not odd – it’s fairly normal). 

Unlike my days in the emergency department, my definition of busy is fairly moulded. I have set appointments, which more or less means I have a set number of patients I see. (OK so the receptionist squeeze odd ones in here and there, even the midwife got me to see one of her patients today).

The big differential between busy and the “q” word is: the quality of the patients.

I’ve developed an equation:

P=Q – D/C/BM

The number of patients with appointments (P),  is equal to the level of Q minus the proportion of difficult/complex/barking mad patients (d/c/bm)

Yesterday my d/c/bm factor was high, but today I have had (so far) a high q factor. 

Are you listening at the back?!!?

I often wonder why it is that my days seem to either have a High Q factor or a high D/C/BM factor, and very rarely a balanced combination. 

Basically everybody comes in for something simple (and I spend lots of time reading the blogs) or everybody is barking mad, complicated or difficult (and I spend lots of time trying to catch up because I’m running soooooo late).  All I want to know is WHY??

Question for the Nurse Practitioner for this week:

Was from a young lad – one of my regulars – who came to see me for the umpteenth time, with something benign and in no need of treatment.  His mum is a worrier – I don’t mind that at all, if you leave with nothing but a bit of reassurance and peace of mind, that can be just a healing as a prescription.

Before he left, the lad turned to me and said:

How come you know everything?

I had to confess that actually I don’t.  But sweet none-the-less and not bad for the ego.  I think of myself sometimes as someone who knows a little bit about a lot of things, but not much about anything.  I am no expert – keeping to equations:

x is an unknown quantity and a Spurt is a drip under pressure! (xspurt – you follow??)

In the news today: It appears that obesity has a genetic factor.  “Scientists” found people with two copies of a “fat” version of a gene had a 70% higher risk of obesity than those with none, and weighed 3kg (6.5lb) more.

Does this mean that in the future people with the “fat” gene could have it removed/altered to stop them being so fat? 

Well I have often wondered why fat people don’t get rid of those jeans anyway, that bulge is so unattractive, if they got the next size up and stopped kidding themselves they’d look much better.

Hang on! Am I getting confused again?

I’ll be less cryptic next time I promise.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “P=Q-D/C/BM”

RSS Feed for It shouldn’t happen in health care Comments RSS Feed

That’s a sad picture. I can’t imagine being a person that is so overweight. I am no skinny chick by any means and I need to lose about 30 pounds but my husband loves me the way I am. I’m a lucky woman.

Max says: It’s what is inside that counts….and she has a lot inside – anatomically speaking.
Max xxx

she looks as if she is pregnant

ewwwwww………..THATS GROSS n fat ppl have
like no BOOBS!!!

Max says: Kristi – you are incompassionate and need to go back to school so that you can learn to use all the keys on the keyboard. If you have nothing intelligent to say – say nothing.

Look at her face. It just looks so sad and pained. I don’t think overweight people should be ridiculed. It’s unfortunate to be in that position, but they shouldn’t be taunted because of it.

[…] P=Q-D/C/BM, I used a picture of a over weight lady trying to get her jeans on, following a news article about […]

[…] yes…I should know better, I’ve even discussed the topic before in P=Q-D/C/BM (and you thought chaos theory was […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

