You called your baby what???

Posted on January 17, 2008. Filed under: Journal from behind the desk... |


Obviously this post is slightly decreased in potency by the need for confidentiality, enough to say that during my working life I have come across some cracking names, some sweet, some hideous!

When I spent some time in paediatrics in a certain London region, my list of patients would make people think I was a mechanic. In one week we had Mercedes, Porshe, Ferrari and Harley admitted! 

 How common!!

If spoken in a gentle upper class accent one could get away with such names, however in a rough end of town these names did not have such poetic qualities…

“‘ere, Meer-say-diz- come away from dat firkin’ door, befores I belts ya one!”

Then there are the parents who don’t look into what a name actually means before labelling there precious little darling with it….

The examples that always make medical staff wince are:

Candida: Derived from Latin canditia meaning “white”. This was the name of an early saint who was supposedly healed by Saint Peter as oppose to:

Candida: a fungus which causes infections like vaginal thrush; well that explains the “white” bit – lots of nasty white “cream cheese” discharge.

and

Melina (sometimes spelt Melena): Greek for Yellow/honey as oppose to…

Melena: black, tarry, and foul-smelling stools

A picture of a black stool!!

So why did I decide to write a post about names?

Well despite feeling unloved and under appreciated by my patients in general, (exhibit a), one of my patients has just had a baby, and given it the same name as me…

OK so I don’t have a particularly common name, but it is a name that you hear from time to time. “Coincidence” I told the girls in the office. Then I spoke to the Health vistor who confirmed they had named him after me!

OMG! How am I supposed to react to that?

Well I suppose I should be flattered! Or should I get a court injunction?  Answers on a postcard please to:

“I’ve never slept with your wife” competition.

Freepost.

Never-everland!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “You called your baby what???”

RSS Feed for It shouldn’t happen in health care Comments RSS Feed

How funny! Your patients obviously love you far more than you let on!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

