The Bare facts….

Posted on April 10, 2008. Filed under: Journal from behind the desk... |


It’s been another frantic week.  So I am going to give you the bare facts…

1: Polar bears are a potentially endangered species living in the circumpolar north.

Eh!?

2: Brown/grizzly bears are found from the islands of southeastern Alaska to the arctic.

What!?

3:Black bears inhabit most of Alaska’s forests.

Hang on a minute……

4: Polar bears frequent the pack ice and tundra of extreme northern and western Alaska.

Stop…..

5: Winnie-the-Pooh, commonly shortened to Pooh Bear and once referred to as Edward Bear, is a fictional bear created by A. A. Milne.

WAITSTOP RIGHT THERE….THAT IS NOT WHAT I MEANT.

OK don’t get grumpy….

Right the bare fact  – b.a.r.e:

1: The naturist philosophy has several sources; many can be traced back to the health and fitness philosophy in Germany in the early twentieth century, though the concept of returning to nature, and creating equality are also cited.

WAIT!!!! THAT IS STILL NOT WHAT I MEANT!

THE bare facts about my working week…. Jeees, you could have written something witty, in the time it’s taken to Wiki this stuff…. anyhow get on with it…

1: I will always giggle quietly to myself when a patient tells me they’ve been sucking a fisherman’s friend.

2: I don’t like it when patients leave my room moaning that I didn’t give them antibioitics for a slighlty sore throat they’ve had for 1 day.

3: I don’t like it when patients are dissatisfied with what I’ve told them, so go and get an appointment for 1 hour later with the Doctor.

4: I DO like reading the same patients notes when the Doctor write:

“History as above, finding as above, agree with diagnosis and management”

(Incidentally, this isn’t because we are conspiring against patients, it is actually that said patient has a virus and antibiotics REALLY, REALLY, don’t help viral infections).

5: I’m not overly keen on Americanisms (no offense folks).

6: I think the Americans have got it right referring to a bacterial tonsillitis as “Strep throat”, therefore making a clear diagnosis from viral tonsillitis/pharyngitis etc. etc.

7: I think the study in “Neurology” (2008, 70, 1258-64), that found people with depression are 2.5 times more likely have dementia is… well…..depressing!  Still I’ve never been clinical depressed, however I DO have a strong family history of Alzheimer’s. If I start to act slightly demented please email me so I know!….

8: While talking about family traits….I’d like to say…”Diarrhoea runs in our family”. (Not quite as funny as sucking a fisherman’s friend, but it still makes me grin a little).

9: I liked my patient giving me a big bear hug earlier this week.

10: I would not appreciate any of my patients giving me a bare hug! (Well, perhaps a few exceptions!)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “The Bare facts….”

RSS Feed for It shouldn’t happen in health care Comments RSS Feed

Thanks for the bare facts. They made my day!

You’ve been royally tagged by Mimi Queen of Memes. Have fun!
Message In a Bottle

Nice post. Brought a large smile to my face.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

