You must be joking!

Posted on April 30, 2008. Filed under: Benign |


In a recent edition of the “Nursing Standard” they had an article about laughing…  It’s the kind of article that defines why I don’t subscribe to the Nursing Standard – very little clinical benefit.  Laughing is natural and not something that can be considered in great detail.  Either you act in a strict professional manner, or a friendly relaxed manner.  None the less the article came to my attention and read:

Everyone likes a good laugh but is it appropriate to use humour with patients?” 

Obviously not always: “Well, the good news is you’ve got a week to live, and the bad news is, I should have told you last week”.

“Humour is a social phenomenon with 95% of laughter likely to occur in a social situation“….

Another case of bollocks statistics, which scientist spent quality time following people around with a stopwatch recording how much of the laughing was in a social situation….This would mean 5% is antisocial laughter?  Is that when you laugh at your own farts in a secluded place? – Max’s tip of the day….Don’t fart in enclosed spaces.

The useless article goes on “…It is claimed that laughter can promote health by lowering blood pressure, reducing pain and boosting immune function“.

I’m sure a good belly ripping laugh makes your BP rise.

I don’t strictly doubt these claims, but for acute injuries I find a good swear word is much more effective than laughter.

Ha, Ha, I’ve got a knife stuck in my leg….What a corker!!”

verses

“OH F***, that F***in’ knife is in my bloody, and I mean bloody, leg….Sh*t!

Apparently “Humour can be risky and does not come with guidelines“…really who does write this stuff?! I wonder if they meant risque, rather than risky???

Max: “and so how did the accident happen?”

Imaginary colleague: “Well, I was just about to defib my arresting patient, then I recalled an article I’d seen in the Nursing Standard about laughter, so I thought I’d try telling him a joke first.  He gained consciousness a split second before I defib’d him and laughed so hard he wet himself. Unfortunately the rest of the crash team were standing in his urine and got electrocuted too.  Tee- hee! What a good giggle we had!”

Come here there’s more, the Standard goes on…”but, good or bad, humour is an integral part of interpersonal relationships and nurse-patient interaction is a fundamental aspect of healthcare“…WOW! I am stunned by the insight and I have no more to say on the matter.

PS….The Brits are on form….

Another Newbi to look out for is a Northern Nurse.

And Julie from Life in the NHS has taken on Change of Shift, maybe we should call it hand over this week…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “You must be joking!”

RSS Feed for It shouldn’t happen in health care Comments RSS Feed

I have to admit this is my assessment of nursing standard recently as well. When I was starting out I found it quite useful to learn bits and pieces, but as I stand now, within a year of qualifying, I find it all a bit bizarre.

They recently had an article discussing the “correct procedure for making a hospital bed”, which to me sums up the sillyness that seems to pervade through it!

(Ooops, pressed the submit button too quickly!)

At least we can be glad of one thing – it’s marginally better than the nursing times.

Have you managed to find a good generalist nursing journal? I tried BJN for a while, but I wasn’t quite sure what to make of that either – it did appear to be a little more high brow, but also full of a lot of psychobabble.

Hmmm, food for thought… I always used to read Emergency Nurse and Professional Nurse. Both were a little more intelligent.

Now I just surf for stuff I want to know about, and get bullitins from http://www.univadis.co.uk which incorporated GP note book. Just depends what you are looking for really.

Mostly I prefer the Beano!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

