A sign of the times!

Posted on August 27, 2008. Filed under: Apply topically, Benign |


I can understand why people get upset by stereotypes, really I can…but I had to grin a little when I heard about the pensioners organisations that wanted the sign advising road users of elderly pedestrians to be changed

I say….she’s grabbing his bum!!

I work in an area with high levels of elderly patients, many are stooped and many have sticks.  Is this such a bad sign?  Apparently Age Concern state that: “Very few older people are hunched over, with a walking stick. They are assuming everyone who is old looks like that, and they don’t,” said Lizzy McLennan, a senior policy officer at the charity.

Well I suppose many of them are more mobile, and don’t have sticks.  So I suppose I could understand why the elderly might want a more funky replacement….I was going to say a “more hip replacement”, but that might be considered in bad taste!!

But what should the sign depict instead. Some agile pensioners dancing.

Well if they are agile surely they can nip across the road and therefore don’t need signs warning anyone.

The director general of Age Concern felt that rather than signs, a speed bump would slow drivers down. (We used to call them a sleeping policeman, but I guess the police felt this was sexist as we never drove over sleeping police women”) 

Fuzzy moment – black and white dream sequence : So it’s dark and raining, Max has just dropped granny off at the residential home and continues on his way when the car bumps over something….

Max: “GRANNYYYYYY !!! Are you OK???  If only they had a sign up, I wouldn’t have ran her over….”

Mrs. E Nurse in passenger seat : “Relax, it’s just a sleeping police man”

Max, putting the car in reverse: “I don’t pay my taxes so they can doze off in front of residential homes, serves the lazy bugger right”

Fuzzy moment and return to real life….hmmmm where was I?

Where will this road safety political correctness end?  Zebra’s and Pelican’s complaining as they have crossings names after them and yet they are not cross.

And I’ve always wondered how the wheels actually cross each other on skiddy roads!!

Incidentally the sign is listed in the Highway code as a warning of frail pedestrians. So I have to agree with the comment in the article suggesting that Age Concern really should be focusing on more useful issues, such a rising cost of heating, flu endemics etcetera, etcetera…..

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “A sign of the times!”

RSS Feed for It shouldn’t happen in health care Comments RSS Feed

Without any help from Age Concern, I had had the same thought – but what else could you use in a sign?

Mind you I like the idea that the lady is having a go at the gentleman’s bum!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

