Varying rants…

Posted on January 21, 2009. Filed under: Benign |


As you may (or may not) have noticed, my posting recently has been a little bit thin on the ground…I doubt I need to say sorry…but if anyone has missed my drivel then..I am truly sorry!

I can say varying things that explain my lack of posts, varying from “too busy”, to “just couldn’t be bothered when I finally had a free minute”.

I have been trying to get some assistance with this blog.  After-all I always insisted it was a place for a collection of items, and not just my rantings.  As such I have been pestering a few people to “guest” for me, and anybody is welcome. Just email your “funny” (ha-ha or peculiar) health care based tales to me at maxenurse@inbox.com or on ye olde facebook.  

Remember the blog is called… “It shouldn’t happen in health care”… so anything that fits, whether it is the most embarrassing thing that happened to you… an example here from the lovely Kim (my blog mum…but don’t tell her that or else she will be embarrassed!!)…

Okay. It’s my first clinical rotation in my first quarter of nursing school. I am 18-years-old and let’s just say I had led a VERY sheltered life and didn’t have any brothers, if you get my drift.

I had never even looked at a “Playgirl”.

First patient? A twenty-three year old male with bilateral broken arms. My assignment?
Bed bath.

I was SO embarrassed, but I managed to rise to the occasion. Fortunately my patient did not, or I’m afraid I would have been traumatized for life.

You can find more from Kim at the legendary Emergiblog.

Or whether you want to tell us about something a patient said to you that made you laugh, cry or wince…(remember this blog is quite benign, so nothing too emotionally scaring, ((nor political)). For example one of mine….

A 91 year old gent came to see me this week with something fairly straight forward to sort out, and I commented that he rarely came to see us and was only on one pill (for reflux), and despite my best efforts to find something else wrong with him, he left as healthy as he came in.

As he was leaving he said… “A lot of people ask me what keeps me so well, I always tell them it was my mis-spent youth”.

Fair enough, then he went on and said…

“It’s a bit late for you now then I suppose!”

Charming….a man 57 year my senior says I’m too old for a mis-spent youth…I wouldn’t have minded so much…but he is right!

In summary…feel free to contribute…I’ve always said this is “your” blog…even in my very first post on this site

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Varying rants…”

RSS Feed for It shouldn’t happen in health care Comments RSS Feed

Excellent site maxenurse.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here: this .. as it’s taken me literally 2 hours and 56 minutes of searching the web to find you (just kidding!) so I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

