What I’ve learnt this week at work…

Posted on June 10, 2009. Filed under: Benign |


Often working as a Nurse Practitioner is educational, there will sometimes be a patient present with a condition or medication I have never heard of and thus I need to look it up and find out more, but this week I’ve decided to focus on the non medical aspects of what I’ve learnt from patients this week…

Lesson 1: Maggots are dyed different colours depending what fish you are trying to catch.  Apparently different fish are attracted to different colours!

Lesson 2: There is a sign in our local bowls club that specifically says not to leave bowls bags in the corridor, but some people ignore it. I was told this while assessing an old mans leg…victim of a misplaced bowls bag!

Lesson 3: I still don’t like teenagers having a crush on me…and at my age too! I suppose I should be flattered!

Lesson 4: Despite poor personal hygiene, poor fitting dentures that drop every time you open your mouth and being scruffy, you can still have sexual relations and get a girlfriend 13 years younger when you are 58! (this has nothing to do with Lesson 3, hopefully when I am 58, I shall be a little better presented, in which case I would find it perfectly acceptable to have a 45 year old girlfriend…although I’m not sure my wife would be too keen!!!!!)

Lesson 5: Some people like to moan, but their face shows great disappointment when you resolve what they were moaning about.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “What I’ve learnt this week at work…”

RSS Feed for It shouldn’t happen in health care Comments RSS Feed

Um … excuse me for being an American, but what is “bowls” and what is a “bowls bag”?

Check out the link…bless yer little american n heart!!
http://www.tradgames.org.uk/games/Bowls.htm

Bless your little american heart…check out… http://www.tradgames.org.uk/games/Bowls.htm

lesson 5 is very true, and they’re even more unhappy when they tell you that NO-ONE can get get blood out of them, and then you get it first time! people are weird……

I especially love it when I figure out that whatever they were moaning about is pure hogwash. Patient with very distorted hand and moaning in pain suddenly bends down and ties his shoes right in front of me. Ta Da!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

