It is better to give than to receive!

Posted on November 5, 2009. Filed under: Journal from behind the desk... |


I consider myself spiritual, but not particularly religious… Lets leave it at that… but today I shall start by quoting the bible….

Here goes….

In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’

Acts 20:35

Wow!!! I feel better for that!

Anyhoooo, where am I going with this.  I’m definitely a “giver” at work.

I give to my patients my time, my experience and expertise, handsome good looks and a listening ear…as shown in the following picture…

But sometimes on the battle front of primary care, it is the patient that gives and I who receive.  The things I receive are not flower or chocolates, but health care battle wounds….

Patients give me….

Urine samples in bottles not designed to have urine samples in them. Some make patients appear diabetic when they are not (you really mustn’t put wee in honey pots!) and others in pots that seem to be specifically designed to ensure the contents goes anywhere but on the urinalysis stick.  (Yes! I am writing this post with someone elses urine on my trousers!)

Flying microscopic bugs. Debatably when you sneeze the bugs and grubs that come out along with all that forced air travel at 100mph. Coughs are less speedy, but probably more germ ridden….please don’t aim them at me, and as I have said before the Peak flow meter is not a germ pea shooter, face away from me.

Flying macroscopic bugs: Tic’s and flea’s and head lice! No thanks. I believe you, you really don’t need to get any closer!

Pus.  OK it’s not your fault, but your abscess just erupted…(all the following have happened to me and I feel a little poetic…)

I squeezed your big juicy spot 

Messily it erupted like it oughta.

See that gunk and watch it fly.

Nearly hit the picture by my daughter.

Pus now dripping down my tie,

across my keyboard and into my water,

and somehow just missed my eye!

So, as you can see my job is give and take. It’s a war zone and I stand up and take my place to fight, but if you could keep the above “gifts” to yourself….and bring me some chocolate I’d appreciate it. 

This post was slightly motivated by getting wee on my trousers and slightly by NYCRN’s new blog “Pee and Sympathy” and his Nurse manifesto.

All this talk of war zones in humour at this time of year, lets not forget the real heros…

Poppy Appeal 2009 poster - For their sake, wear a poppy

I have a battle just trying not to lose my poppy, still it’s for a good cause so I’ll just have to buy another!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

