Logical Oxymoron!

Posted on January 12, 2010. Filed under: Did I say that? |


OK so I am in my consulting room alone, comfort eating. I am suffering a severe case of being illogically logical. Before this morning I would have said that was an oxymoron, I no longer feel it is, I’ll explain in a bit.

Fab Oxymoron example!

Last week I went for an job interview, working with a friend of mine, closer to home, more annual leave and a damn lot less time in the car and money going to fill my car. (Currently I commute a 50 mile round trip daily, that’s 250 miles a week, and about £40 a fortnight in diesel, which is nearly a grand a year just on fuel and I spend over 7 hours in the car each week). 

As you might appreciate I am sometimes silly, this exacerbates when I am a tad nervous for example in interviews!  So before I get back to my logic oxymoron, let me tell you how I answered the interview questions…(my wife laughed and then said.. “you can’t say that in interview!”  (Actually you can, perhaps you shouldn’t, but you can!))

Question: What do you consider the worse part of working in General Practice?

Answer: Hmmm, going home after work??

Question: Where do you see yourself in 5 years time?

Answer: I’ll be 40, so potentially having a mid-life crisis, tattooed and riding around on a motorbike.

Phwoar!!! Look at the shiny metal…Hey…oh yeah… blogging. Sorry got distracted….

Question: What do you do to combat stress?

Answer: I’d like to say go home and drink 1/2 a bottle of scotch but…(more sensible answer then given).

Question: Name 2 things you’d like to change about yourself.

Answer: “Oh, if I say nothing that sounds really vain. Urm.” “Nasal Hair”

No I don’t have a moustache.

I did clarify with more sensible answers after initially blurting out the above answers, and I obviously can say things like that in interview as they offered me the job.  Now we get to the logic oxymoron…

The new job has a tiny commute, therefore less cost getting to work, more time with my children. It is a good opportunity to develop my skills working in a teaching unit with new people. Logically move really.

I love my current job, every tiny aspect of it.

Environmentally, developmentally, financially and fatherly it’s logical to move.  It is also illogical to leave a job you love in every aspect, so I should stay.   The problem is I am a moron oxymoron.  I am logical yet soppy and emotional.

So I have accepted the new job, and will enjoy it when I get there and make the most of every opportunity, but I shall cry every day before I leave my current job.  Look! I’m an ex A&E nurse, and I still can’t cope with compliments, so anymore of this; “I’m really pleased for you, but we will miss you sooo much/the place won’t be the same without you” stuff and I shall explode.

Anyway if an oxymoron is illogical by its very definition, an illogical oxymoron must be the same as a double negative and therefore is logical!  If you don’t understand me, then just smile nicely and say “yes dear!” If you do understand me seek help immediately.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

6 Responses to “Logical Oxymoron!”

RSS Feed for It shouldn’t happen in health care Comments RSS Feed

Congrats on the new job and yup, I understood that! *looks for therapy whilst passing you a hankie*

You did the right thing! Your wife & kids are way more important. But, could you split the difference? Perhaps stay on at the old place and only work a shift or two/month for coverage?

Kids walking by computer and noting bike pic:

“Is that YOU, Mom???”

Why, yes. Yes it is.

Cheers!

Sorry, software took out the brackets. Try again.

– kids walking by computer and noting bike pic:

“Is that YOU, Mom??”

Why, yes. Yes, it is.

There comes a time in everyone’s life where we look at what we have and what we could have. Being able to cut the umbilical cord to move onto so called greener pastures is fraught with it’s complications and what ifs. But in the end, if YOU are happy with the decision, that’s all that matters. Good luck with your new job. BTW My round trip to work is 150kms – take care – Peter

Thanks for the support. Edain… I think you should talk Mark into shaving the beard off and growing the moustache as above!

Muse…impressed at the kids comments… also I work full time, so not an option really, i shall bug the old team lots though in other ways.

Peter, cheers. 150kms I though I was unenvironmentally friendly!

logically illogical? or illogically logical? either way I get it>>>>Yikes scarry LOL

The moral of the story??….It really can be greener on the other side and still be just as green on this side. Just depends if we are talking apples and bananas or just apples…( didn’t think oranges quite fit the analogy) LOL

Anyway sometimes we have to make decisions in life that require change. That can be tough, but in the end if we make the most of what we currently have, we should be happy, wherever we are in life. It’s worrying about “what if’s” that can be a real downer….


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

