A goodbye letter to Sickton.

Posted on January 26, 2010. Filed under: In the beginning..., Journal from behind the desk... |


As you know if you have been paying attention over the past few weeks, I’m off to a new job and I am sad to be leaving the old one. There are lots of patients that I would like to say bye to and I don’t like the idea of them finding out I’ve left without telling them, (there will be a few I’ll be glad to see the back of!) This is obviously impossible to address, however I thought I’d send a letter to the local free paper and see if anyone reads it!

This is how it went (details subtly changed to protect the guilty!)…

To the people of Sickton-on-the Naze and staff of Naze Medical Practice.

Prior to 2005 I knew very little of  Sickton-on-the Naze and the surrounding areas, but on the recommendation of one of your Nurse Practitioners , I came for a job interview to work alongside her as a Nurse Practitioner at Naze Medical Practice. She told me about the surgery, staff and patients and told me how she loved her job there. This made me smile, after all a job is just a job, I’ve always enjoyed what I do, but to “love” work? Surely somewhat of an exaggeration.

The interview went well and I started my job in August 2005. From then until now I have had the most fantastic time in Sickton-on-the Naze. I have made great friends with the surgery staff, and enjoyed meeting the patients here. They have made me smile, laugh and even on some occasions cry. I have shared in their sadness and in their joy. I have listened to them and they to me, we have shared stories. Patients I met as babies are now school children, and I’ve seen spotty teenagers grow into adults and generally watched life progress and feel privileged to have shared in those lives.

One day a patient asked me if I enjoyed my job, and I said that I loved it, no exaggeration. I love working with the team at the surgery, and I love working with the people of Sickton-on-the Naze. For this I would like to say a big thank you and with heavy heart report that I am leaving  Sickton-on-the Naze to work at another surgery closer to home. Sometimes it’s good to move on and increase my experiences, but I will be sad to go. I just hope my replacement loves  Sickton as I do, and once again I say thank you for letting me share in a little part of  life.

Yours Very Sincerely.

Max E Nurse.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “A goodbye letter to Sickton.”

RSS Feed for It shouldn’t happen in health care Comments RSS Feed

Hi,

My name is Sharon Smith and I am the assistant editor of Hospital.com. I am contacting you today in hopes of developing a relationship with your website; we have seen your site and think your content is great. Hospital.com offer a free informational resource to both the general and professional public on several health & hospital related issues.

I hope you show some interest in building relationship, please contact me at sharon.hospital.com@gmail.com.

I hope you enjoy your new job as much as you did your prior one. It’s hard to move on and not feel like you are leaving wonderful patients behind.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

